Skip to content
King Fire Update: The King fire which started on September 13th in El Dorado County near Pollock Pines, CA, has grown to more than 18,000 acres and is nearing Placer County on National Forest lands. More »

Vital Records

The Clerk-Recorder's Office maintains and preserves the birth, death and marriage records for Placer County.  The birth and death records date from 1873 to the present and marriage records date from 1852 to the present. Certified copies of the vital records can be purchased (see below).

The fee for Certified Copies of Birth Certificates is $28.00 and Death Certificates are $21.00.  Marriage Certificates are $15.00 for a public and $20.00 for a confidential..

Authorized Birth or Death Copies

Because of the increased occurrence of identity theft, laws were passed to protect birth and death records from misuse. Beginning July 1, 2003 the California Health and Safety Code Section 103526 permits only specific individuals to receive an AUTHORIZED CERTIFIED COPY of a birth or death record.

An AUTHORIZED CERTIFIED COPY of a birth record is required to obtain a driver's license, passport, social security card and other services related to an individual's identity.  An AUTHORIZED CERTIFIED COPY of a death record may be required to obtain death benefits, claim insurance proceeds, notify social security and obtain other services related to an individual's identity.  Please see below for list of authorized individuals.

Those who do not meet the criteria for an AUTHORIZED CERTIFIED COPY may receive an INFORMATIONAL CERTIFIED COPY with the words "INFORMATIONAL, NOT A VALID DOCUMENT TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY" imprinted across the face of the copy.

When ordering in person: an authorized individual must complete an approved application, including a signed statement sworn under penalty of perjury, in addition to showing a valid piece of identification, to receive an AUTHORIZED CERTIFIED COPY.

When ordering by mail: send a completed application form and a notarized Sworn Statement, signed under penalty of perjury by the authorized requestor, with payment to: Placer County Clerk, 2954 Richardson Drive, Auburn, CA 95603.

Individuals permitted to receive an AUTHORIZED CERTIFIED COPY:

  • The registrant or a parent or legal guardian of the registrant.
  • A party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order, or an attorney or a licensed adoption agency seeking the birth record in order to comply with the requirements of Section 3140 or 7603 of the Family Code.
  • A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business.
  • A child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse or domestic partner of the registrant.
  • An attorney representing the registrant or the registrant's estate, or any person or agency empowered by statute or appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant's estate.
  • Any agent or employee of a funeral establishment that orders certified copies of a death certificate on behalf of any individual specified in paragraphs (1) to (5), inclusive, of subdivision (a) of Section 7100 of the Health and Safety Code.

Authorized Marriage Copies

Beginning January 1, 2010 the California Health and Safety Code Section 103526 permits only specific individuals to receive an AUTHORIZED CERTIFIED COPY of a marriage record.

An AUTHORIZED CERTIFIED COPY of a marriage record is required to conduct a name change on a driver's license, passport or social security card. Please see below for list of authorized individuals.

Those who do not meet the criteria for an AUTHORIZED CERTIFIED COPY may receive an INFORMATIONAL CERTIFIED COPY with the words "INFORMATIONAL, NOT A VALID DOCUMENT TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY" imprinted across the face of the copy.

When ordering in person: an authorized individual must complete an approved application, including a signed statement sworn under penalty of perjury, to receive an AUTHORIZED CERTIFIED COPY.

When ordering by mail: send a completed application form and a notarized Sworn Statement, signed under penalty of perjury by the authorized requestor, with payment to: Placer County Clerk, 2954 Richardson Drive, Auburn, CA 95603

Individuals permitted to receive an AUTHORIZED CERTIFIED COPY of a non-confidential (public) marriage certificate:

    • The registrant (one of the parties to the marriage.)
    • A party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order (must include a certified copy of the court order with this request.)
    • A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business.
    • A parent, child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse or domestic partner of the registrant.
    • An attorney representing the registrant or the registrant's estate, or any person or agency empowered by statute or appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant's estate.

Those who are not authorized by law to receive an authorized certified copy of a non-confidential (public) marriage record will receive an informational certified copy marked “Informational, not a valid document to establish identity”.

Individuals permitted to receive an AUTHORIZED CERTIFIED COPY of a confidential marriage certificate:

    • The registrant (one of the parties to the confidential marriage.)
    • A party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order (must include a certified copy of the court order with the request.)

An informational certified copy of a confidential marriage certificate cannot be issued.

Guidelines for Ordering Copies

The guidelines for ordering birth, death and marriage records has changed.
Because of the increased occurrence of identity theft, laws were passed by State legislators to protect birth, death and marriage records from misuse. The most recent laws went into effect January 1, 2010. At that time, the steps necessary to obtain a birth, death, or marriage record changed significantly. Authorized Birth or Death Copies

Fees (per copy)

  • Public Marriage Certificate - $15.00
  • Confidential Marriage Certificate - $19.00
  • Official Record
    • Non-Certified - $2.00 first page / $1.00 each additional page
    • Certified - $4.00 first page / $1.00 each additional page
    • Fax/Email - $4.25 flat rate
    • Use of credit card - $7.00 (plus cost of record) fee effective 6-1-2011

Over the Counter
Copies of recorded documents or vital records can be purchased at the Recorder's Office from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, except for legal holidays. The customer completes a copy request form or application, and  gives it to the copy clerk. The copy is made at that time. Payment for an over-the-counter copy can be made by cash, check, money order or credit card.

By Mail
A request for a copy can be mailed to the Recorder's Office. All copy requests must have:

  • a daytime phone number in case there is a question or problem.
  • an address to mail the copy to.
  • a check or money order to cover the fee for the requested copies.

A request for a public or confidential marriage certificate must include a completed application form- including a notarized Sworn Statement, signed under penalty of perjury by the authorized requestor.

A request for a birth or death certificate must include a completed application form- including a notarized Sworn Statement, signed under penalty of perjury by the authorized requestor.

A request for a copy of a recorded document must include the type of document, the parties involved and a recording reference if possible or a date of recording.

Copy requests should be mailed to:

Jim McCauley, Placer County Clerk-Recorder
Attn: Copy Desk
2954 Richardson Drive
Auburn, CA 95603

By Telephone
*Vital and Official records can be ordered over the telephone with a credit card. To order by phone, call (530) 886-5610 with the following information:

  • The type of record (Birth, Death, Marriage, Recording, etc)
  • Date of the event (or date of recording)
  • Name on the certificate or document
  • Credit card information

For an additional charge, telephone orders can be sent via an Overnight Carrier.

*If requesting a vital record (Birth, Death, or Marriage) a completed, signed and notarized application must be faxed to our office at (530) 886-5687 prior to calling our office with your credit card information.

Online Orders
*Only Vital records can be ordered online. Vital Records (including birth, death and marriage certificates)

*If requesting a vital record (Birth, Death, or Marriage) a notarized sworn statement must be faxed to our office at (530) 886-5687 and can be ordered directly with our office by calling (530) 886-5600 or can be ordered online with a credit card through VitalChek. VitalChek orders can also be sent via an Overnight Carrier courier for an additional charge.
Click here to go to VitalChek Link

Payment Types

  1. Checks - The Recorder's Office does accept personal checks. All checks must have the account holder's name, address, phone number, account number and check number pre-printed on them. Checks should be made payable to Placer County Recorder.
  2. Money Orders - Money orders should be made payable to Placer County Recorder.
  3. Credit Cards - Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express are accepted. All credit card orders are assessed an additional $7.00 fee. This fee is charged by VitalChek, the company that processes the credit card information for Placer County Clerk-Recorder.

Marriage Licenses

The Name Equality Act of 2007 (AB 102, Chapter 567, Statutes of 2007) gives specific rights to parties who are applying for their California marriage license, to choose and list on the marriage license, the new name(s) that each party will go by after marriage ( Family Code 306.5) This law only pertains to marriage licenses issued on or after January 1, 2009 and does not apply to marriage licenses issued prior to that date.

NOTE: Parties are not required to have the same name, nor are they required to change their name. If one or both of the parties want to have their new name(s) shown on their marriage license, the new name must be entered on the marriage license application at the time they are applying for their marriage license. The name you indicate on your marriage license application will be your name on the marriage license certificate and cannot be changed by the County Clerk. If you do not indicate a new name on your marriage license, a court order will be required to do a name change.

For more information please visit The Office of Vital Records

Wedding Keepsakes are available.

The following is information regarding: public marriage licenses and confidential marriage licenses; who may perform a marriage ceremony; miscellaneous information; and frequently asked questions.

There are two types of marriage licenses a couple may apply for: Public and Confidential. Both types of marriage licenses are valid for 90 days from the date they are issued. The Public Marriage license can be used anywhere in the state of California. The Confidential Marriage license must be used in the county where it was purchased. You must present the license to the person who is to perform the marriage ceremony. After the ceremony is performed, it is their responsibility to complete the license and to return it to the County Clerk for filing within 10 days after the ceremony.

Applying for a Public or a Confidential Marriage License

Marriage License Application

Parties to be married must do the following to apply for a marriage license:

  1. Apply together and apply in person.
  2. Present a government issued picture identification, such as a driver's license, passport or military ID.
  3. Provide full names, including mother's maiden names, and state or country of birth for parents.
  4. If previously married or in a State Registered Domestic Partnership, provide the date of dissolution, death or termination.

If Purchasing a Confidential Marriage License

Three additional requirements also apply:

  1. Both applicants must be over 18 years of age.
  2. Currently living together.
  3. Being married in the county where the license was purchased.

Confidential Marriage License Application 

Who May perform Marriage Ceremonies per Family Code §401
Marriage ceremonies may be performed by any priest, minister, or rabbi of any religious denomination, a judge or retired judge, commissioner or retired commissioner, or assistant commissioner of a court of record, a judge or magistrate who has resigned from office, or by a person authorized to do so under Family Code Section §401.

Family Code Section §401
For each county, the county clerk is designated as a commissioner of civil marriages. The commissioner of civil marriages may appoint deputy commissioners of civil marriages who may perform marriage ceremonies under the direction of the commissioner.  Deputy Marriage Commissioner for a day

Civil Marriage Ceremonies
On a limited basis, ceremonies are performed through the Clerk-Recorders Office, Monday through Friday.  Appointments are preferable, please call at least 24 hours in advance for scheduling the appointment.  Those without an appointment will be served in accordance to available staff.

Miscellaneous Information

  1. Minors, emancipated minors included, cannot be licensed to marry in California without a parent's written consent and a Superior Court Order, and cannot purchase a Confidential Marriage license. Please call for more information.
  2. There are no residency requirements for the parties to be married, or witnesses to the ceremony.
  3. The Public marriage license can be used anywhere in the state of California. The Confidential marriage license can only be used in the county it was issued in.
  4. One witness is required on the Public marriage license. Two are also acceptable. No witnesses are necessary for the Confidential marriage license.
  5. The Public license is a public record and available for anyone's inspection. It may be published in a local newspaper. The Confidential marriage license is not a public record, and a certified copy can only be purchased by the parties of the marriage without a court order.
  6. Certified copies are available at the Recorder's Office for a fee of $15.00 for Public and $20.00 for Confidential.

Application for Vital Copy

Top