Skip to content

Civil Division


Sheriffs Sale Under Foreclosure (1/4/2018)


Civil Division located at:

2929 Richardson Dr Auburn, CA 95603.

Mailing Address

Placer County Sheriff, Civil Division

2929 Richardson Dr., Auburn CA 95603.

Telephone 530-889-7885    Fax 530-886-3840

Hours Of Operation 

Monday through Friday, 4:00p.m.

We are closed on all major holidays.

Most common services are: Summons & Complaints, Evictions, Small Claims, Civil Bench Warrants, Wage Garnishments, and Bank Levies. For all other service, please call our office at phone # 530-889-7885. When calling our office with inquires on Civil files have the Levying officer file # ready so that we can properly identify the file.

Advanced fees are required. We require the original Writ of Execution (front & back) in all cases that a writ is needed. For personal services we require 3 copies of the documents (front & back) to be served. All service requests must come with an original letter of instruction signed by the Attorney of Record or the petitioner/plaintiff if there is no Attorney of Record. 

Fee list of the most common services the Civil Division offers: 

  • Summons & Complaint
    $40.00 per person/entity
  • Claim of Plaintiff/Defendant
    $40.00 per person/entity
  • Wage garnishments
  • Bank levies/3rd party levies
    $40.00 per garnishment
  • Auto Levy
    actual cost, $2000.00 deposit required$2000.00
  • Real property levies
    actual cost, $2000.00 deposit required$2000.00
  • Writ of attachment-real property
  • Eviction
  • Bench Warrant fee
    $50.00 or $140.00
  • Restraining Orders (Domestic Violence) Free
  • Restraining Orders (Civil Harassment)
    $40.00 unless fee waived by court

Letters of instruction downloadable forms:

Bench Warrant Letter of Instruction

Electronic Writ Declaration

Instruction for Service

Levy Instructions

Restraining Order Instruction

Unlawful Detainer Eviction

Wage Garnishment Forms

Out of State Documents

The Sheriff’s Office cannot provide you with legal advice. The following are several resources you might find helpful.

The California Landlord/Tenant Handbook

Eviction and Housing CA Courts self-help

Guide for Landlords CA Courts self-help

Bill Santucci Justice Center Courthouse

Bill Santucci Justice Center Courthouse

(Appointments available by using the link above)

Legal Help Center (Facilitator’s Office)

10820 Justice Center Drive, Roseville, CA 95678

(916) 408-6000

Monday, Wednesday and Thursday 8 a.m. to 12 p.m., Tuesday 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. and Friday 8 a.m. to 12 p.m.
** Auburn Historic Court hours: Monday – Friday 8:30 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Sparks Law Library of Placer County

 Sparks Law Library of Placer County

1523 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603


Library Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Tuesday 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Legal Self Help Clinic: Thursday 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Legal Services of Northern California

Legal Services of Northern California

Auburn office

190 Reamer Street, Auburn, CA 95603

(530)823-7560 (800)660-6107 Toll Free (530)823-7601 Fax


For Domestic Violence related issues:

Stand Up Placer

Stand Up Placer

Auburn Direct Services Office
11985 Heritage Oaks Place, #200, Auburn, CA 95603
Phone: 530.885.0443 | Fax: 530.889.8497

Roseville Direct Services Office
700 Sunrise Ave Suite N, Roseville, CA 95661
Phone: 916.773.7273 | Fax: 916.773.3990

For any additional information needed, please feel free to call our office for further assistance.

Thank you,

Placer County Sheriff's Office

Civil Division