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Are You Operating Portable Equipment That Should have a Permit?

Do you operate portable equipment that is powered solely by a portable engine and/or equipment that
emits air pollution, such as electrical power generators, compressors, abrasive blasting equipment, sand
and gravel screening equipment, rock or pavement crushing equipment, tub grinders, trommel screens,
woodchippers, well-drilling equipment, diesel pile driving hammers, welding equipment, cranes, dredges,
and concrete batch plants?

Placer County Air Pollution Control District (District) regulations require the permitting of any engine
having a brake horsepower rating of greater than 50 horsepower, and a permit may be required for any
device that emits more than 2 pounds of any pollutant in a day. If the engine is stationary, such as
emergency generator or shop equipment, a permit from the District is required. However, if the engine is
portable, does not propel a vehicle, and does not operate at any location for more than 12 consecutive
months, it may be registered instead with the State of California Air Resources Board. Obtaining a
registration with the State is much less expensive than the cost to obtain a District permit and allows the
relocation of the equipment throughout California.

The Statewide Portable Equipment Registration Program (PERP), established in 1997, has emission
standards that the equipment must meet, so not all portable equipment is eligible for registration. In
addition, a portable engine, and the equipment unit it serves are considered to be separate emissions
units - each requiring separate registration applications. Once the portable equipment is registered to a
“home” air district, it may be operated in other air districts. If the equipment will be operated in another air
district for more than 5 days, the air district must be notified within two working days of commencing
operations. In addition, a registration identification label has to be affixed to the equipment and a
certificate of registration kept at hand. Similar requirements apply for rental equipment.

If you rent the equipment you should receive a copy of the registration certificate from the rental company
and a certification label should be affixed to the equipment. Both the operator of the equipment and the
rental company share responsibility in assuring that the equipment is permitted by the District for
operation in Placer County or that it is registered for statewide operation.

The District encourages the registration of portable equipment in lieu of obtaining a permit from the
District, whenever this is possible. The consequence of not obtaining either a District permit or a State
registration, or for not complying with permit or registration requirements, is that the District will seek both
compliance and the payment of a monetary penalty that removes any monetary advantage that may have
been gained by not complying and to serve as a deterrent to future violations. Although the penalty is
dependent upon the circumstances, these penalties can be $1,000 or more per violation, with each day
during which a violation occurs counted as a separate offense.

Both the District regulations and the State registration program require that the equipment meet certain
standards. It is possible that your older equipment, particularly engines, will not comply with existing
standards and cannot be permitted or registered and therefore cannot be operated at all in Placer County.

If you operate portable equipment of greater than 50 brake horsepower in Placer County, then either a
District permit or a Portable Equipment Registration is required. Please contact the District Office, at
(530) 889-7130, to find out if you are required to have a permit or registration for your equipment.
Permitting information may be obtained by contacting the District, or by accessing forms on the District’s
Internet web page http://www.placer.ca.gov/airpollution/forms-fees.htm. Information regarding the
Statewide Portable Equipment Registration Program and registration application forms can be obtained
by calling (916) 324-5869, via e-mail at portable@arb.ca.gov, or from the California Air Resources
Board’'s web page http://www.arb.ca.gov/portable/perp/perp.htm.
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