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FILM PERMIT REGULATIONS AND PROCEDURES 

for the County of Placer 

PLACER – LAKE TAHOE FILM OFFICE 
(Required for commercial Feature, TV, Commercial, Print, Industrial, Internet, Student, and Non-Profit 

productions)  

The Placer – Lake Tahoe Film supports and encourages location filmmaking and other media 

production here in Placer County. We want yours to be a safe and rewarding experience. In an 

effort to minimize the unexpected, please read the following film permit regulations, procedures 

and attachments carefully before filling out the application.  

 

COUNTY PERMIT FEE: NONE  

Just fill out the permit form and submit to the Film Office.  The Film Office will review 

information, confirm insurance, obtain relevant approvals and approve the permit, or deny the 

permit.  If approved, the Film Office will make sure the proper departments are notified and provide 

the production company with the relevant names and contact numbers, as much as possible.  

 

TURN AROUND TIME: 24-48 HOURS  

Once a completed application has been submitted, a film permit can usually be issued within 24  

– 48 hours (not including weekends – unless we get lucky).  Complicated shots (road closures, stunts, 

etc.) may require more lead time.  The earlier you apply for a permit, the more we can be of help.  

 

INSURANCE: REQUIRED FOR ALL COUNTY LOCATIONS including unincorporated areas 

Please provide: 

 

1.Certificate of Liability - The Certificate must name “the County of Placer, its officers, agents, 

employees and volunteers as additional insured for all liability arising out of the operations by or on 

behalf of the named insured in the performance of this Agreement.”  

 Amount:  $1,000,000 total general liability (this includes bodily injury and property damage)  

additional higher limits may be required depending on production activities 

(i.e., aircraft, pyrotechnics, etc.).  

 

$5,000,000 in excess liability if county bridge locations are used. 

2. Endorsement Page - A copy of  the policy’s Endorsement Page listing the County of Placer as 

“Additional Insured” 

 

TRAFFIC CONTROL  

County road closures and intermittent traffic control (ITC) require that roads be posted 48 hours 

in advance (not including weekends/holidays).  Signs will not be posted until a film permit is 
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issued. These signs will be posted and removed by the Department of Public Works at the 

expense of the production company.  

Permittee shall provide appropriate traffic control and signage as determined/required by the 

County Department of Public Works, as well as those that might be required by other agencies 

(i.e. California Highway Patrol).  

Traffic control is limited to a maximum of 15 minutes during the actual filming of a sequence. 

At all other times at least one lane will remain open with two-way traffic control.  

The county must post information signs at least 48 hours in advance (not including weekends 

and county holidays) of any activities requiring traffic controls.  Signs shall state the time and 

days traffic control will be in effect, and state the maximum expected delays.  

All traffic control signs and devices must conform to CalTrans guidelines for construction zone 

traffic control.  

In general the production company can expect that the California Highway Patrol and or a 

flagging/signage company will need to be retained for road closure and ITC.  

 

BRIDGE LOCATIONS (See Attachment A)  

Use of County Bridges is on a case-by-case basis.  Please read Attachment A for details. 

$5,000,000 in excess liability is required on the Certificate of Insurance for bridge locations.  

 

PERMITTEES RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITES  

Permittee must be in physical possession of the approved, signed county permit at all times during 

use of location(s).  

Permittee agrees to observe all county laws and statutes unless special permission is granted in writing 

and specified in the county film permit.  

The Permittee hereby agrees to comply with all the rules and regulations of the facility or 

institution subject to this permit, if applicable.  

Permittee agrees to comply with the terms and conditions contained in any County Attachments or 

Exhibits pertinent to said locations.  

The parties hereto agree that the Permittee, its officers, agents and employees, in the performance of 

this permit shall act as an independent contractor with no affiliation with Placer County and not as 

officers, employees or agents of the County of Placer.  

Permittee is fully responsible for obtaining any other permits required by local, state or Federal 

agencies.  
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Permittee is fully responsible for making all arrangements that impact on private property and other 

non-County properties.  

 

 

COUNTY RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES  

The County shall have the right to inspect the premises and activities covered by this permit at all 

times.  

The County may terminate this permit at any time if the Permittee fails to perform any covenant herein 

contained at the time and in the manner herein provided.  

The Placer – Lake Tahoe Film Office will assist in coordinating with and obtaining approvals from 

county departments as required for the described activity, as well as coordinate with city officials, as 

locations dictate.  

An Acknowledgment to COUNTY OF PLACER would be greatly appreciated.  


