Skip to content

Health and Human Services

We are a multi-division agency focused in the health and social services fields. Our services are available throughout the county. We provide a unified system of quality services to safeguard the health and well-being of the people and animals in our communities. To realize our mission, we strive to keep all children, adults, and families:

  • Healthy
  • Safe
  • At home
  • In school or work
  • Out of trouble
  • Self-sufficient

Services and Information

  • Adult Services
    Includes Adult Protective Services, Adult Mental health, In-home supportive services
  • Community Resources
    Includes Support groups for alcohol, drug dependence, suicide, homelessness, wellness center
  • Behavioral Health Managed Care
    Behavioral and mental health services for children and adults
  • Animal Services
    Includes adopting a pet, animal control, and local vets and shelters
  • Environmental Health
    Includes food inspection, monitor health, drinking water, garbage, sewage, dangerous chemicals, and pollution
  • Medical Clinics
    Includes locations, contact information, testing for diseases, referrals, Immunizations
  • Child and Youth
    Includes at-risk children in emergencies and crisis, report child abuse, counseling, sexual abuse treatment
  • Human Services
    Including healthcare coverage, food and nutrition assistance, temporary cash (WIC) and housing assistance, employment services
  • Public Health
    Includes birth and death certificates, foster, infectious diseases, water and tick testing in lab, nursing , pregnant and parenting teens

Department Leadership

Jeffrey S. Brown, MPH, MSW
Health and Human Services Department (HHS)
Department Director
jbrown@placer.ca.gov
530.889.7141
530.745.3135 (fax)

Robert L. Oldham, M.D.
Health and Human Services Department (HHS)
Public Health Officer
roldham@placer.ca.gov
530.889.7141
530.745.3135 (fax)

Graham Knaus
Health and Human Services Department (HHS)
Assistant Director
gknaus@placer.ca.gov
530.745.3140

Rebecca Mellott
Health and Human Services Department (HHS)
Administration Division Director
rmellott@placer.ca.gov
530.745.3162

Maureen Bauman, LCSW, MPA
Health and Human Services Department (HHS)
Adult System of Care Division Director
mbauman@placer.ca.gov
530.889.7256

Richard Knecht, M.S.
Health and Human Services Department (HHS)
Children’s System of Care Division Director
rknecht@placer.ca.gov
530.889.6704

Wesley Nicks
Health and Human Services Department (HHS)
Environmental & Public Health Division Director
wnicks@placer.ca.gov
530.745.2341

Cheryl S. Davis, M.S.
Health and Human Services Department (HHS)
Human Services Division Director
cdavis@placer.ca.gov
530.889.7660

Featured Updates

Contact Us

Top