- Departments A - D
- Real Property Records
- Basic Recording Requirements
Basic Recording Requirements
Original Signature Required
Requires original signatures on all instruments, papers or notices presented for recording except as otherwise provided by law. A certified copy is also acceptable.
CC 1188 and CC 1189
Any California notary public or other officer taking acknowledgments in California must complete the California all-purpose notary acknowledgment.
Documents presented for recording must be sufficiently legible to reproduce a readable photographic copy. This includes notary seals and any attachments or exhibits.
A page is defined as one printed side of a single piece of paper measuring 8.5 inches by 11 inches.
All documents submitted for recording must have at least a half-inch margin along each vertical side. In addition, the top 2.5 inches of the first page or sheet must be reserved for recording information. The left 3.5 inches of this space is used to show the name of the party requesting the recording and where to mail the document after it is recorded.
If the first page of the document does not have required space for the recording information, a separate page or cover sheet must be attached to the front of the document. This cover sheet must show the name of the party requesting the recording, where to mail the document after it is recorded and the title or titles of the document. Recording fees will be charged for this page.
All documents submitted for recording must indicate the title or titles of the documents contained therein. Titles should appear on the first page, directly below the space reserved for the Recorder.
Additional titles indexed
The Recorder is required to index all titles shown on the first page. Additional titles may also be identified and indexed at the discretion of the Recorder. Additional titles indexed by Placer County Recorder include, but are not limited to, Assignment of Rents and Assignment of Leases found in the body of the document. When a document contains more than one title to be indexed, the recording fee will increase $14 for each additional title to be indexed.
Recording Reference Number Required
Any document that modifies, releases or cancels the provisions of a previously recorded document must contain the recording reference number of that prior document.
Basic Recording Fees
All recording fees are due at the time of recording. Placer County Clerk-Recorder charges $14 for the first page and $3 for each additional page per document. For a complete list of our fees, please see our fee schedule.
Recording Fee for Non-Conforming Documents
If any part of a document does not measure 8.5 inches by 11 inches, or if the document has anything taped, pasted or stapled to an individual page, an additional non-conforming fee of $3 will be charged for each page of the document. For a complete list of our fees, please see our fee schedule.