Library Advisory Board

LAB website spring Placer_spring


The Library Advisory Board (LAB) advises and makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors (BOS) and the Director of Library Services concerning policies and procedures for the operation of the Placer County Library System. The LAB also studies and reviews plans and programs for the long-term development of Placer County Library, and advocates in support of building strong communities and connecting people for a better future.

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Current and Archived Agendas and Minutes.

View 2023 Calendar and Meeting Logistics


Date Time Location
February 15, 2023 10 AM - 12 PM Zoom Webinar
May 17, 2023 6:30 - 8:30 PM Zoom Webinar
September 20, 2023 10 AM - 12 PM Zoom Webinar
February 21, 2024 10 AM - 12 PM Zoom Webinar


Seat Name Represents Appointed By Term Expires
1 Vacant District 1 BOS  
2 Jean Schumpelt District 2 BOS 12/31/2026
3 Michelle Sutherland District 3 BOS 12/31/2024
4 Donja Marie Garvey District 4 BOS 12/31/2024
5 Heidi Johnson (Chair) District 5 BOS 12/31/2024
6 Vacant District 5
N. Tahoe
BOS 12/31/2024
7 Jane Hamilton City of Auburn City of Auburn 5/30/2026

Placer County Code                                                                  County code can be found here. (Select Administration > Library Advisory Board).


Members shall receive no compensation for their services; however, any member traveling on official business for the LAB shall be reimbursed for his actual and necessary traveling expense.


Comprised of 7 members serving 4 year terms to coincide with the Supervisors' terms. 

  • 6 members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors (1 each Supervisorial area and 1 Tahoe area).
  • 1 members are appointed by the Auburn City Council.

Conflict of Interest

  • No


  • A regular meeting schedule will be set by the board based on business need plus such additional meetings as may be called by the chairperson of the board, with a minimum of two meetings per year.