Three Types of Septic Systems

There are three types of septic systems permitted in Placer County. The type of system your property requires is determined by:

  • Ground water levels
  • Percolation rates (how fast water flows through the soil)
  • Soil quality
  1. Standard Septic System
  2. Low Pressure Dose System
  3. Supplemental Treatment System

The simplest system available, standard septic systems consist of:

  • Septic tank
  • Leach field

Wastewater leaves the building and enters the first compartment of the septic tank. Heavy solids form sludge in the bottom of the tank, and grease and light material form a scum layer near the top. The clear zone in between flows into the second compartment of the septic tank.

The wastewater then leaves the second compartment and flows to the distribution box at the beginning of the leach field. The leach field is comprised a network of perforated pipes laid in gravel-lined trenches. The effluent is distributed to the leach lines via serial distribution.