- Communications & Public Affairs
- News Releases
- Early voting for June 5 primary election
Early voting underway for June 5 statewide primary election
Published on May 14, 2018
Early voting is underway for the June 5 statewide primary election. The Placer County Elections Office opened an early voting center on May 8 for Placer County’s registered voters.
“As a convenience to voters during the early voting period, voters from any precinct in Placer County may come to our office to cast a ballot or drop off a voted mail ballot,” said Placer County Clerk, Recorder and Registrar of Voters Ryan Ronco. “We have also significantly expanded our vote-by-mail ballot drop box locations to include 14 locations around Placer County to make it easier for residents to vote and return their ballots.”
Early voting is available during regular business hours, the two weekends leading up to election day and on Memorial Day. Any voter in Placer County can vote early at the Elections Office located at 2956 Richardson Drive in Auburn. Polling place voters can cast a ballot printed on-demand at the office.
Early voting is available Monday - Friday, May 7 - June 4, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.; Memorial Day, May 28, 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.; Saturday and Sunday, May 26-27, and June 2-3, 9 a.m. - 4 p.m. and election day, June 5, 7 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Ballots can be dropped of at designated drop-off sites through election day. Vote-by-mail voters have the option of dropping off their completed ballots at the Elections Office, 24 hours a day or at one of 14 drop-off locations throughout Placer County. View a full list of ballot drop-off locations.
The last day to register to vote for the statewide primary election is May 21. Voter registration is available online. If eligible residents miss the deadline, they can register in person and conditionally vote a provisional ballot up to and on election day. The Elections Office urges registering as early as possible to avoid unnecessary waiting and to receive a regular ballot and voting materials.
A new voter registration form will be required if a voter has changed addresses, their name or political party preference. To register to vote, a person must be a U.S. citizen, at least 18 years old on or before election day and not imprisoned or on parole for a felony.
Online registrations will be accepted as long as they are completed before midnight on May 21; paper registration applications that are postmarked by May 21 will also be accepted. Registration applications are available at any Placer County post office, public library, or California Department of Motor Vehicles or may be requested by mail by calling 530-886-5650.
A new process called conditional voter registration became effective in California in January. Under this new law, eligible voters who missed the 15-day registration deadline have the opportunity to come to the Elections Office within 14 days of and on election day, register and conditionally vote a ballot.
While conditional voter registration is now an option, Placer County residents are strongly encouraged to continue to register to vote as early as possible to avoid unnecessary waiting and to receive a sample ballot pamphlet.
For more information, contact the Elections Office at 530-886-5650 or call toll-free in California at 800-824-8683 or visit the Placer Elections website.