SB 384 Toll Time

Effective January 1, 2021, SB 384 transitioned California's lifetime sex offender registration schema to a tier-based schema.  SB 384 established three tiers of registration for adult registrants for periods of 10 years, 20 years, and lifetime, and two tiers of registration for juvenile registrants for periods of 5 years and 10 years.  SB 384 allows the registrant to petition the superior court or juvenile court for termination of their sex offender registration requirement on or after their next birthday following July 1, 2021, following the expiration of their mandated minimum registration period.  Based on criteria listed in SB 384, the court will either grant or deny the petition. 

Any questions related to a petitioner’s eligibility or the petitioning process should be referred to the Placer County Public Defender's Office or a Private Attorney.

The following links will assist the petitioner with questions and documents to complete the petition process.

California Department of Justice:

California Department of Justice FAQ’s for Registrants/Petitioner:

California Courts:

LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES ONLY:  The Placer County Sheriff’s Office will assist Law Enforcement Agencies with tolling credit information. This information will only be provided for petitioners who were incarcerated in Placer County. Please follow the link below to submit your request for a incarceration report.

Submit Toll Time Request Here