Redistricting FAQs

Every ten years, after the federal census, district boundaries for federal, state and local elected offices are redrawn to reflect new population data and shifting populations. This process is called redistricting. 

The County of Placer must redraw the boundaries of its five supervisorial districts. The redrawing ensures that the five County supervisors elected to represent the five supervisorial districts are reflective of the County’s changing population. How and where district lines are drawn can shape a community’s ability to elect the representative of their choice.

Each supervisor is responsible for representing about 77,000 residents of Placer County in a specific geographic area. To learn more about the County of Placer, the County supervisors and their districts, .

requires cities and counties to engage communities in the redistricting process by holding public hearings and/or workshops and doing public outreach, including to non English-speaking communities.

Redistricting determines which neighborhoods and communities are grouped together into a district for purposes of electing a board member. The Board of Supervisors will seek input in selecting the next district map for supervisorial districts through a public process. You have an opportunity to share with the Board of Supervisors how you think district boundaries should be drawn to best represent your community.

To the extent practicable, district lines will be adopted using the following criteria: (1) geographically contiguous districts (each supervisorial district should share a common border with the next), (2) the geographic integrity of local neighborhoods or communities shall be respected in a manner that minimizes its division, (3) geographic integrity of a city or census designated place shall be respected in a manner that minimizes its division, (4) easily identifiable boundaries that follow natural or artificial barriers (rivers, streets, highways, rail lines, etc.), and (5) lines shall be drawn to encourage geographic compactness. In addition, boundaries shall not be drawn for purposes of favoring or discriminating against a political party.

The Board of Supervisors will reach out to local media to publicize the redistricting process. Also, we will make a good faith effort to notify community groups of various kinds about the redistricting process. Our public hearings and forums will be provided in applicable languages if residents submit a request in advance. The Board of Supervisors will notify the public about redistricting hearings and forums, post maps online before adoption, and create a dedicated web page for all relevant information about the redistricting process.

Any testimony can be provided in person, in writing or electronically prior to or during the hearing through any of the means identified on the Board of Supervisors webpage (). Live translation is available in an applicable language if a request for translation is made at least 72 hours before the hearing or workshop, unless less than five days’ notice are provided for the hearing or workshop, in which case the request must be made at least 48 hours before the hearing or workshop.

The effort will be supported by a multi-disciplinary team of staff from the County Executive Office, Elections Office, and Community Development Resource Agency. Ultimately, the Board of Supervisors will take final action on approval of a map. In accordance with a new state law (), an Advisory Commission to the Board of Supervisors comprised of Placer County Planning Commission members will hold public hearings, receive public input, and make a recommendation. The process will include engagement with communities through public hearings and public outreach that is designed to develop maps that are representative of the County’s diversity.

Placer County includes 6 incorporated cities. Each city has its own municipal government represented by a mayor and city council members.

For a list of the incorporated cities in Placer County, .

Unincorporated territory is land outside the boundaries of the 6 incorporated cities. Much of the unincorporated territory is located in rural areas in other portions of the county. The County of Placer serves as the primary local government agency in unincorporated areas.

For a list of unincorporated communities in Placer County, .

Five supervisorial districts cover the county. The incorporated cities govern their own populations but the County Board of Supervisors is responsible for some operations that affect residents in both the incorporated and unincorporated areas. For example, public health, restaurant inspections, street maintenance, planning and development, etc.

Please contact the redistricting team via email at .