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   1. Ownership Information  FOR ASSESSOR’S USE ONLY 

      DATE  INITIAL 

Name     Logged In _________ ________ 

Mailing    Field Checked _________ ________ 

Address   Zip    Approved By _________ ________ 

Telephone (    )     Denied By _________ ________  

  Reason     

   2. Property Information      

      
Assessor’s Parcel No.       

Subdivision Name    Hold For Compliance _________ ________ 

Street Address    Key Punch _________ ________ 

City    Former APN    

    

 
3. Title to Property Received on:  
 
Recording Date: ______________ Document Number ______________ or Volume ________  Page  

 

 
 
4. Construction Information Applicable to this Application 
 
 Date construction began on subdivision off-sites (i.e.: streets, utilities)   
 
 Date construction began on foundation   
 
 Date construction began on building(s)   
 
 
5. Location of Business Records if Different From Information Entered in Block 1 
 
Name ____________________________________________ Telephone (______)    
 
Address __________________________________________________   Zip   
 
 6. I declare under penalty of perjury, under the laws of the State of California, that the foregoing and all  
information hereon, including any accompanying statements or documents, is true, correct, and complete to  
the best of my knowledge and belief.  
 
Signed In  California, This  Day of  ,   
 
Signature*   Title   
 
 
  
   
 

PLACER COUNTY ASSESSOR’S OFFICE 
Kristen Spears, Assessor                
 

2980 Richardson Drive � Auburn, CA 95603-2640 
Telephone: (530) 889-4300 � Fax: (530) 889-4305 

Website: www.placer.ca.gov/assessor � E-mail: assessor@placer.ca.gov 
 

Application for Builder’s Exclusion 
Notice of Intent to Not Use or Occupy Newly Constructed Property 

 

(Month) (Year) 

Owner or Corporate Office Owner, Corporate Office, Partner 

(Please Print Name)  *(Note: Owner of Record or Agent of Record Must Sign) 
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The California Revenue and Taxation Code requires new construction be assessed and a supplemental 
assessment levied when the construction is complete or available for use. New construction may be excluded 
from a supplemental assessment if the property owner does not intend to occupy or use the property and files 
an application for builder's exclusion with the Assessor prior to or within 30 days after the date of 
commencement of construction. Property is not considered occupied or used by the owner if the occupancy or 
use is incidental to an offer for a change in ownership. 
 

The owner of property qualifying for this exclusion must notify the Assessor within 45 days of the earliest date 
that any of the following occur: 
 

1. The property changes ownership pursuant to an unrecorded contract of sale. 
2. The property is rented or leased. 

3. The property is occupied other than as a model home or other incidental use to an offer for 
change in ownership. 

 
Failure to timely notify the Assessor will result in a penalty of $100 or 10% of the taxes 
applicable to the new base value, whichever is greater, not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000) 

if the property is eligible for the homeowners’ exemption or twenty thousand dollars ($20,000) if 
the property is not eligible for the homeowners’ exemption. 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

This exclusion applies only to supplemental assessments for new construction. It does not preclude the 
reassessment of the property for the regular roll each January 1, or any other supplemental assessments. The 
exclusion is only applicable until the property changes ownership, is leased, rented or occupied, except as 
noted above. A separate application is required for each assessor's parcel. 
 
1. Enter the ownership information and telephone number where the owner or agent can be contacted. 
2. Enter the Assessor's parcel number and property location information. 

3. Enter the recording date. If  the  transfer  was  recorded  before  July  1,  1990,  enter  the  recording 
volume/page. If the transfer was recorded after July 1, 1990, enter the recorded document number. 

4. Enter the work-started dates. 

5. Enter the name and telephone number of the person to contact and the location of the business records 
of the property if different than block 1. 

6. Fill in the perjury statement and sign the application. Only the property owner or his agent or 
legal representative may apply. If you are an agent or legal representative, attach documentation to 
that effect signed by the owner.  If you are buying the property under an unrecorded contract of 
sale, attach a copy of the contract to the application. 
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