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STATE OF CALIFORNIA - HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES AGENCY 
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATEMENT ACKNOWLEDGING REQUIREMENT TO REPORT SUSPECTED 
ABUSE OF DEPENDENT ADULTS AND ELDERS 
NOTE: RETAIN IN EMPLOYEE/ VOLUNTEER FILE 
NAME 

POSITION FACILITY 

California law REQUIRES certain persons to report known or suspected abuse of dependent adults or 
elders. As an employee or volunteer at a licensed facility, you are one of those persons - a “mandated 
reporter.” 

PERSONS WHO ARE REQUIRED TO REPORT ABUSE 

Mandated reporters include care custodians and any person who has assumed full or intermittent 
responsibility for care or custody of an elder or dependent adult, whether or not paid for that 
responsibility (Welfare and Institutions Code (WIC) Section 15630(a)). Care custodian means an 
administrator or an employee of most public or private facilities or agencies, or persons providing care 
or services for elders or dependent adults, including members of the support staff and maintenance 
staff (WIC Section 15610.17). 

PERSONS WHO ARE THE SUBJECT OF THE REPORT 

For purposes of mandatory reporting, elder means any person residing in this state who is 65 years of 
age or older (WIC Section 15610.27). Dependent Adult means any person residing in this state, 
between the ages of 18 and 64, who has physical or mental limitations that restrict his or her ability to 
carry out normal activities or to protect his or her rights including, but not limited to, persons who have 
physical or developmental disabilities or whose physical or mental abilities have diminished because of 
age and those admitted as inpatients in 24-hour health facilities (WIC Section 15610.23). 

REPORTING RESPONSIBILITIES AND TIME FRAMES 

Any mandated reporter, who in his or her professional capacity, or within the scope of his or her 
employment, has observed or has knowledge of an incident that reasonably appears to be abuse or 
neglect, or is told by an elder or dependent adult that he or she has experienced behavior constituting 
abuse or neglect, or reasonably suspects that abuse or neglect occurred, shall complete form SOC 341, 
“Report of Suspected Dependent Adult/Elder Abuse” for each report of known or suspected instance of 
abuse (physical abuse, sexual abuse, financial abuse, abduction, neglect (self-neglect), isolation, and 
abandonment) involving an elder or dependent adult. 

Reporting shall be completed as follows: 

 If the abuse occurred in a Long-Term Care (LTC) facility (as defined in WIC Section 15610.47)
and resulted in serious bodily injury (as defined in WIC Section 15610.67), report by telephone
to the local law enforcement agency immediately and no later than two (2) hours after observing,
obtaining knowledge of, or suspecting physical abuse. Send the written report to the local law
enforcement agency, the local Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program (LTCOP), and the
appropriate licensing agency (for long-term health care facilities, the California Department of
Public Health; for community care facilities, the California
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Department of Social Services) within two (2) hours of observing, obtaining knowledge of, or 
suspecting physical abuse. 

 If the abuse occurred in a LTC facility, was physical abuse, but did not result in serious bodily
injury, report by telephone to the local law enforcement agency within 24 hours of observing,
obtaining knowledge of, or suspecting physical abuse. Send the written report to the local law
enforcement agency, the local LTCOP, and the appropriate licensing agency (for long-term
health care facilities, the California Department of Public Health; for community care facilities,
the California Department of Social Services) within 24 hours of observing, obtaining knowledge
of, or suspecting physical abuse.

 If the abuse occurred in a LTC facility, was physical abuse, did not result in serious bodily injury,
and was perpetrated by a resident with a physician's diagnosis of dementia, report by telephone
to the local law enforcement agency or the local LTCOP, immediately or as soon as practicably
possible. Follow by sending the written report to the LTCOP or the local law enforcement agency
within 24 hours of observing, obtaining knowledge of, or suspecting physical abuse.

 If the abuse occurred in a LTC facility, and was abuse other than physical abuse, report by
telephone to the LTCOP or the law enforcement agency immediately or as soon as
practicably possible. Follow by sending the written report to the local law enforcement
agency or the LTCOP within two working days.

 If the abuse occurred in a state mental hospital or a state developmental center, mandated
reporters shall report by telephone or through a confidential internet reporting tool
(established in WIC Section 15658) immediately or as soon as practicably possible and
submit the report within two (2) working days of making the telephone report to the
responsible agency as identified below:

• If the abuse occurred in a State Mental Hospital, report to the local law enforcement
agency or the California Department of State Hospitals.

• If the abuse occurred in a State Developmental Center, report to the local law
enforcement agency or to the California Department of Developmental Services.

 For all other abuse, mandated reporters shall report by telephone or through a confidential
internet reporting tool to the adult protective services agency or the local law enforcement
agency immediately or as soon as practicably possible. If reported by telephone, a written or
an Internet report shall be sent to adult protective services or law enforcement within two working
days.

PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO REPORT ABUSE 

Failure to report abuse of an elder (age 65 years or older) or dependent adult is a MISDEMEANOR 
CRIME, punishable by jail time, fine or both (WIC Section 15630(h)). The reporting duties are 
individual, and no supervisor or administrator shall impede or inhibit the reporting duties, and no person 
making the report shall be subject to any sanction for making the report (WIC Section 15630(f)). 

CONFIDENTIALITY OF REPORTER AND OF ABUSE REPORTS 

The identity of all persons who report under WIC Chapter 11 shall be confidential and disclosed only
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among APS agencies, local law enforcement agencies, LTCOPs, California State Attorney General 
Bureau of Medi-Cal Fraud and Elder Abuse, licensing agencies or their counsel, Department of 
Consumer Affairs Investigators (who investigate elder and dependent adult abuse), the county District 
Attorney, the Probate Court, and the Public Guardian. Confidentiality may be waived by the reporter 
or by court order. Any violation of confidentiality is a misdemeanor punishable by jail time, fine, or 
both (WIC Section 15633(a)). 

ADULT PROTECTIVE SERVICES (APS) EILIGIBILITY 
For purposes of receiving APS program services, an elder is anyone residing in this state 60 years of age 
or older. (WIC Section 15750(b)(2).  As of January 1, 2022, APS agencies can receive referrals and 
investigate allegations of abuse and provide intervention and case management to any elder 60 years or 
older, and to dependent adults between the ages of 18-59 (WIC Section 15750(b)(1)(A).   Statutes 
governing mandated reporting have not been affected; accordingly,  mandatory reporting still only applies 
to elders age 65 years and older. 

DEFINITIONS OF ABUSE 

Physical abuse means any of the following: (a) Assault, as defined in Section 240 of the Penal Code; 
(b) Battery, as defined in Section 242 of the Penal Code; (c) Assault with a deadly weapon or force likely
to produce great bodily injury, as defined in Section 245 of the Penal Code; (d) Unreasonable physical
constraint, or prolonged or continual deprivation of food or water; (e) Sexual assault, that means any of
the following: (1) Sexual battery, as defined in Section 243.4 of the Penal Code; (2) Rape, as defined in
Section 261 of the Penal Code; (3) Rape in concert, as described in Section
264.1 of the Penal Code; (4) Spousal rape, as defined in Section 262 of the Penal Code; (5) Incest,
as defined in Section 285 of the Penal Code; (6) Sodomy, as defined in Section 286 of the Penal Code;
(7) Oral copulation, as defined in Section 288a of the Penal Code; (8) Sexual penetration, as defined in
Section 289 of the Penal Code; or (9) Lewd or lascivious acts as defined in paragraph (2) of subdivision
(b) of Section 288 of the Penal Code; or (f) Use of a physical or chemical restraint or psychotropic
medication under any of the following conditions: (1) For punishment; (2) For a period beyond that for
which the medication was ordered pursuant to the instructions of a physician and surgeon licensed in
the State of California, who is providing medical care to the elder or dependent adult at the time the
instructions are given; or (3) For any purpose not authorized by the physician and surgeon (WIC Section
15610.63).

Serious bodily injury means an injury involving extreme physical pain, substantial risk of death, or 
protracted loss or impairment of function of a bodily member, organ, or of mental faculty, or requiring 
medical intervention, including, but not limited to, hospitalization, surgery, or physical rehabilitation (WIC 
Section 15610.67). 

Neglect (a) means either of the following: (1) The negligent failure of any person having the care or 
custody of an elder or a dependent adult to exercise that degree of care that a reasonable person in a 
like position would exercise; or (2) The negligent failure of an elder or dependent adult to exercise that 
degree of self care that a reasonable person in a like position would exercise. (b) Neglect includes, 
but is not limited to, all of the following: (1) Failure to assist in personal hygiene, or in the provision of 
food, clothing, or shelter; (2) Failure to provide medical care for physical and mental health needs. No 
person shall be deemed neglected or abused for the sole reason that he or she voluntarily relies on 
treatment by spiritual means through prayer alone in lieu of medical treatment; (3) Failure to protect from 
health and safety hazards; (4) Failure to prevent malnutrition or dehydration; or (5) Failure of an elder or 
dependent adult to satisfy the needs specified in paragraphs (1) to (4), inclusive, for himself or herself 
as a result of poor cognitive functioning, mental limitation, substance abuse, or chronic poor health (WIC 
Section 15610.57).
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Financial abuse of an elder or dependent adult occurs when a person or entity does any of the following: 
(1) Takes, secretes, appropriates, obtains, or retains real or personal property of an elder or dependent
adult for a wrongful use or with intent to defraud, or both; (2) Assists in taking, secreting, appropriating,
obtaining, or retaining real or personal property of an elder or dependent adult for a wrongful use or
with intent to defraud, or both; or (3) Takes, secretes, appropriates, obtains, or retains, or assists
in taking, secreting, appropriating, obtaining, or retaining, real or personal property of an elder or
dependent adult by undue influence, as defined in Section 15610.70 (WIC Section 15610.30(a)).

Abandonment means the desertion or willful forsaking of an elder or a dependent adult by anyone 
having care or custody of that person under circumstances in which a reasonable person 
would continue to provide care and custody (WIC Section 15610.05). 

Isolation means any of the following: (1) Acts intentionally committed for the purpose of preventing, 
and that do serve to prevent, an elder or dependent adult from receiving his or her mail or telephone 
calls; (2) Telling a caller or prospective visitor that an elder or dependent adult is not present, or does 
not wish to talk with the caller, or does not wish to meet with the visitor where the statement is false, is 
contrary to the express wishes of the elder or the dependent adult, whether he or she is competent or 
not, and is made for the purpose of preventing the elder or dependent adult from having contact with 
family, friends, or concerned persons; (3) False imprisonment, as defined in Section 236 of the Penal 
Code; or (4) Physical restraint of an elder or dependent adult, for the purpose of preventing the elder or 
dependent adult from meeting with visitors (WIC Section 15610.43). 

Abduction means the removal from this state and the restraint from returning to this state, or the 
restraint from returning to this state, of any elder or dependent adult who does not have the capacity to 
consent to the removal from this state and the restraint from returning to this state, or the restraint 
from returning to this state, as well as the removal from this state or the restraint from returning to this 
state, of any conservatee without the consent of the conservator or the court (WIC Section 15610.06). 

AS AN EMPLOYEE OR VOLUNTEER OF THIS FACILITY, YOU MUST COMPLY WITH THE DEPENDENT 
ADULT AND ELDER ABUSE REQUIREMENTS, AS STATED ABOVE. IF YOU DO NOT COMPLY, YOU MAY 
BE SUBJECT TO CRIMINAL PENALTY. IF YOU ARE A LONG-TERM CARE OMBUDSMAN, YOU MUST 
COMPLY WITH FEDERAL AND STATE LAWS, WHICH PROHIBIT YOU FROM DISCLOSING THE IDENTITIES 
OF LONG-TERM RESIDENTS AND COMPLAINANTS TO ANYONE UNLESS CONSENT TO DISCLOSE IS 
PROVIDED BY THE RESIDENT OR COMPLAINANT OR DISCLOSURE IS REQUIRED BY 
COURT ORDER (Title 42 United States Code Section 3058g(d)(2); WIC Section 9725). 

I, , have read and understand my responsibility to report known or 
suspected abuse of dependent adults or elders. I will comply with the reporting requirements. 

SIGNATURE DATE
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