No. A church, private club, or other nonprofit association that gives or sells food to its members and guests, and not to the general public, at an event that occurs not more than three days in any 90-day period.
Show All Answers
“Community Event” is defined as an event that is civic, political, public or educational in nature (Cal Code113755). It includes: state and county fairs, city festivals, circuses and other public gathering events.
An Event Organizer is a person or organization that is responsible for the coordination, sponsorship or arrangement of a community event. An Event Organizer is required when two or more food/beverage booths will be at an event.
Organizers of food events have an inherent responsibility to the public to provide a safe and healthy event. To allow only approved food vendors to setup at the event and to submit a list of vendors to the Environmental Health Department, two-weeks prior to the event. Provide a site plan indicating adequate space for each vendor to meet proper setbacks.
Provide basic sanitation (porta-potty and hand wash stations) for event attendees, Sanitation for vendors is to be within 200 feet of a TFF. Providing, garbage and refuse containers, ice service, potable water, safe electrical hook-ups may also be necessary depending on the event. Monitoring the food vendor’s practices is the most important item. Contact the Environmental Health Department if there are any issues.
Yes, a permit is required even if the food is given away. The requirements apply to all persons participating in food events, regardless of non-profit status, and include sampling.
A food vendor may only operate at a community event.
Yes. See section 114381.2 of the California Retail Food Code. A permit application shall be submitted to the enforcement agency by each temporary food facility operator that includes all of the following:
The Legislature finds and declares that the public health interest requires that there be statewide health and sanitation standards for food facilities to assure the people of this state, that the food provided to consumers is safe, unadulterated and honestly presented through adoption of science-based standards. Regulations are found in the California Retail Food Code (Cal Code).
Yes, a permit is still required. However, certain requirements may not apply if the food is not potentially hazardous (such as candy, canned soda, bottled water).
Yes. Beverages are considered food and a permit is required. The requirements for bottled or canned beverages are the same as for prepackaged food. There are special considerations for non-profit and winery operations.
No. Food intended for public consumption may not be prepared in a home. All food must be obtained from approved sources. Exception: 114339. Non-potentially hazardous beverages and baked goods may be offered for sale, sold, or given away by a nonprofit charitable organization or by an established club or organization that operates under the authorization of a school or educational facility for fundraising purposes at community events. Note: A valid Cottage Food Operation is considered a food facility and may sell food as a vendor.
Yes, a permit is required for all food vendors offering food for sale to the public. The potential risk associated with handling food is the same, regardless of where the proceeds go.
No. Private parties intended only for members of an organization and/or their invited guests do not require a permit. If the event is advertised to the public; however, then a permit is required.
The permit issued to a temporary food facility vendor may be valid for up to one year, or the vendor may choose to get a permit for only a single event. The permit issued to the event organizer is valid only for the duration of that specific community event. A new application must be submitted, and a new permit obtained for each community event.
No. The permit for your restaurant is site-specific and does not transfer to any other location. However, when you apply for a Temporary Food Facility permit you may also apply for a fee reduction.
Yes. Honorably Discharged Veterans with a DD-214, nonprofit organizations with 501(c) 3 documentation, and Caterers, and Mobile Food Facilities (Food Truck) with a valid permit in good standing, may also apply for a fee reduction.
At least 2 weeks prior to the event to allow adequate time to review the application, vendor list, and make any necessary adjustments and modifications.
Yes, it is available to download (PDF).