In every month that a child support payment is made, a notice will be mailed to the obligee showing how much money the obligor paid. Each month, the first $50 of current child support (a disregard) is paid to the obligee. The remainder goes to repay the County for any CalWORKs payments received.
New federal law may change the disregard payment amount. Contact the Child Support Services Department or County Welfare Office for more information.
Show All Answers
Yes, but call the Child Support Services Department right away, and ask them to review your case. The court can modify the child support order if you lost your job through no fault of your own.
Yes. When there is a change in visitation or custody of the child, you can either go to the court to ask for a change in the child support order, or you may ask the department for a modification from the court.
The amount of the child support order may be decreased if the parent paying support must also support children from another relationship.
A blank Answer Form is supplied with the Summons and Complaint; fill it out and file it with the Superior Court Clerk within 30 days. The Child Support Services Department or family law facilitator in your county can help you fill out the necessary forms.
If the obligor does not respond, the estimated child support payment sent with the Summons and Complaint will be the amount of child support ordered by the court. When the court enters the order, the obligor will need to ask the court for permission to challenge it.
Yes, if you respond to the Summons and Complaint and contest paternity or the amount of child support requested, you will be given a court date.
The amount of child support is based on various factors, including the income of both parents and the amount of time each parent cares for the child. The court uses child support guidelines found using the California Guideline Child Support Calculator. Consult the California Guideline Child Support Payment Calculator User Guide (PDF) for assistance or to seek advice from an Attorney or Family Law Facilitator.
After the court decides the amount of child support, a document called an Order/Notice to Withhold is mailed to your employer with instructions on how much to deduct and where to send the payment.
Yes. You can avoid going to court by signing a legal agreement (stipulation). The obligor and the department can agree (stipulate) on the amount of child support if the obligee is receiving public assistance benefits. If neither parent is receiving public assistance benefits, then both parents may sign a legal agreement (stipulation) about the amount of child support.
Stipulations vary with circumstances, but the usual stipulation contains the agreement that the obligor is:
Yes. Health Insurance must be included in any child support order. Even if it is not available immediately, the court order will order both parents to provide insurance when it does become available. This applies to all cases.
Your child has every day needs that cannot be subject to the parent's willingness to pay when they feel like it. Children receive more support from parents who have an active child support order in place.
Yes. But the longer parents are gone, the harder it may be to find them.
Child support case information is confidential and not open the public, but documents in court files or County Recorder files are public records.
The process to obtain child support begins with opening a child support case, and your help and cooperation are required. A caseworker will ask for information about you, your children, and the other parent. The more information the caseworker has, the faster a child support order can be obtained.
Be sure to tell the Child Support Services Department when you move. The child support case follows the obligee to any new county or state of residence.
You can ask that information about your case not be shared with other agencies or with any other party. If you receive CalWORKS or Medi-Cal, you can ask that the department not act on your case.
No. Paternity must be established before child support can be ordered. Paternity gives your child many rights, including child support, access to medical records, government benefits, and more.
If you don't establish paternity, your child won't be able to get child support or health insurance, even after the alleged father gets a job. Proving he is the father as soon as possible makes collecting child support easier later on, including possible government benefits.
Yes. The Child Support Services Department will ask for a genetic test from the court in the other state. Also, a man can sign a Declaration of Paternity voluntarily declaring he is a child's father even if he lives in another state or another country.
The Child Support Services Department can use a variety of enforcement tools available to collect the payments. Also, the court may find an obligor in contempt of court, or in rare instances, guilty of a misdemeanor and/or felony.
Notify the Child Support Services Department as soon as possible; child support can be enforced anywhere in the U.S. Also, if you have custody and move away, your child support case can be transferred to your new county or state.
Laws known as the "Full Faith and Credit for Child Support Orders Act" and the "Uniform Interstate Family Support Act" may prevent a state from changing another state's court orders. If the child lives here and an order is issued in California, only a California court can change it in most cases.
Yes, you may see the records of all payments made by the obligor on your case. If you have custody, and you think the Child Support Services Department made a mistake, you have the right to ask for a review or audit.
Unless the parent in jail has assets or other income, child support will be nearly impossible to collect. An obligor who goes to jail should contact the Child Support Services Department to modify the child support order. Otherwise, past-due child support will add up plus interest, and the obligor will be responsible for paying it when released.
Yes. If you are eligible and cooperate with the Child Support Services Department, you can receive CalWORKs or Medi-Cal benefits while the Department tries to find the obligor.
Current support and arrears owed to you is paid to you. Anything collected above current support and the arrears owed to you are kept by the Child Support Services Department to pay for past-due child support when you received CalWORKs payments in the past.
Yes, the Child Support Services Department typically hosts three monthly information seminars for the purpose of providing education and answers to the public about all aspects of the child support program. Participants may remain anonymous and can simply listen in, or they can ask specific questions to gain the information they are seeking. No reservations are necessary, and we encourage you to drop in to one of the workshops held at:Placer County Department of Child Support Services1000 Sunset BoulevardSuite 200Rocklin, CA 95765
Please contact Child Support Services or visit the Child Support Services page to confirm the dates and times of each event.
We cannot directly assist you with these areas, but we can supply you with resources for these needs.