When a cash aid recipient is employed or receives disability based income, CalWorks regulations allow the following deductions from the gross income:
Any income remaining after the deductions are subtracted from the gross earned income is then subtracted from the Maximum Aid Payment amount to determine the amount of the CalWorks grant.
Show All Answers
The application for CalWorks includes completion of eligibility questions that will include forms and an interview with a specialist. Aid cannot begin until all conditions of eligibility have been verified. These conditions include, but are not limited to:
Yes. You must have a child under the age of 18 or a child age 18 who is expected to graduate high school prior to their 19th birthday residing with you. In addition you may be eligible if you are in your second trimester of your pregnancy.
No, CalWorks recipients must be either a U.S. citizen or have legal resident status. Undocumented residents are not eligible to CalWorks.
The Maximum Aid Payment (MAP) level is established by the California State Legislature based on family size. MAP levels vary based on whether or not the adults in the household are able to work. The MAP level for households with adult caretakers who are able to work is lower than the MAP level for households with adult caretakers who are not able to work. This is called the Non Exempt MAP Level.
When the adults in the household are not able to work because of a temporary or permanent incapacity, the family receives a higher MAP. Child only cases, i.e., cases where no adults are receiving aid, also receive the higher MAP level. This is called the Exempt MAP Level. The following chart reflects the current October 1, 2021 Non Exempt MAP and Exempt MAP levels:
CalWorks families must report changes in their income, household composition and property to their specialist every six months on their Semi-Annual Report (SAR7) or annually for their Annual Report (RRR). Some other things must be reported within 10 days of occurrence:
Families who are eligible for CalWorks and who are homeless can apply for a special need payment to meet their costs for temporary and permanent housing. The maximum Homeless assistance payment is based on the size of the CalWorks family. Homeless Assistance is available once every 12 months unless the family is homeless due to domestic violence, natural disaster, inhabitability, or a physical or mental disability and the family qualifies for an exemption.
CalWorks families may be eligible to apply for Homeless Assistance benefits to assist with the payment of rent arrearages. Payment of arrearages is considered to be the family’s once every 12 month Homeless Assistance payment.
From January 1, 1998 through June 30, 2011, the time limit was sixty months. On July 1, 2011, the CalWorks time limit changed to 48 months for adults. Some months can be exempt from the time clock calculation.
Your benefits will be placed on your Electronic Benefit Transfer (EBT) card in the beginning of the month. You may request that the cash aid be automatically deposited into your personal bank account. Applications with instructions for this program are available at each office.
Electronic benefit transfer cards do not work for various reasons, such as the card may not be active, or there are no remaining benefits. If your card is not working, please call the Human Services Call Center at 888-385-5160 or call California Department of Social Services at 877-328-9677 or TTY at 800-735-2929.
Call 877-328-9677 to report your card lost or stolen immediately. At this time you may also request a new card be mailed to you. If you need a new card right away contact Placer County at 888-385-5160.
Pregnant or parenting teens who have not graduated from high school are required to participate in the Cal-Learn program. Components of the Cal-Learn program include:
No. If you are receiving Supplemental Security Income/State Supplemental Payment (SSI/SSP), you are already receive a cash form of public assistance and are not eligible for CalWorks. You may apply for other household members who do not receive SSI/SSP.
If you have a cash emergency, you may apply for an Immediate Need payment when you apply for CalWorks. Tell your case manager you have the emergency. Immediate Need payments may be available to families in emergency situations while the CalWorks application is being processed. The maximum immediate need payment is $200.
If you are apparently eligible to the CalWorks program you may be eligible for an Immediate Need Payment, within 24 hours, based on an emergency situation that may include, but is not limited to the following:
The Welfare-To-Work Program, also known as Employment Services, helps family members acquire the skills needed to get a job. The County will determine if an individual must participate in Welfare-To-Work activities as a requirement for CalWorks. Family members may also voluntarily participate.
Call 888-385-5160 to access your benefit information automatically or to speak to a Program Specialist.