What is the fee schedule for a carry concealed weapons license?

New Application Fees

A non-refundable $20 filing fee is assessed at the time of application. All major credit cards are accepted through our online application system. Cash, check or money order can be accepted at the Sheriff’s Office but choosing this option will delay processing of your application. Make checks and money orders payable to the Placer County Sheriff’s Office.

Fees-After Submission of New Application

  • Livescan: $93 will be collected by your Livescan provider for Department of Justice (DOJ)/FBI record check fees (required by the State of California for fingerprinting, criminal history clearance, and firearms eligibility). An additional Livescan “Roll fee” is set by the provider.
  • An $80 administrative fee will be assessed upon approval of a new Concealed Carry Weapons (CCW) license.

These fees are subject to change.

Fees for Renewals of Existing Licenses

$77 renewal fee at the time of application for renewal. Renewal fee covers DOJ assessments and our processing fees. All major credit cards are accepted through our online application system. Cash, check or money order can be accepted at the Sheriff’s Office but choosing this option will delay processing of your application. Make checks and money orders payable to the Placer County Sheriff’s Office. $77 renewal (cash, check or money order) made payable to Placer County Sheriff’s Office. Renewal fee covers the DOJ costs and our processing fees.

Fees for Modification of Existing Licenses

$10 fee per modification application. Fee covers our processing costs. All major credit cards are accepted through our online application system. Cash, check or money order can be accepted at the Sheriff’s Office but choosing this option will delay processing of your application. Make checks and money orders payable to the Placer County Sheriff’s Office.

For more information, contact the Concealed Carry Weapons office.

Show All Answers

1. What are the minimum Course of Fire Standards that the Sheriff’s Office has adopted under AB2103?
2. What are the regulations pertaining to the weapons licensed for our Carry Concealed Weapons license holders?
3. What are the criteria for consideration of issuance?
4. How old do I have to be before I can apply for a Carry Concealed Weapons license?
5. What restrictions are placed on all Placer County Sheriff's Office license holders?
6. Is there a specific type of weapon I must use?
7. How many weapons may I carry?
8. Does my weapon need to be registered to me?
9. How do I register my weapon with California Department of Justice?
10. Can I have my spouse’s weapon on my license?
11. I just moved into Placer County and have a valid Carry Concealed Weapons license from another California county. What must I do?
12. What do I need to do if I move from California?
13. What do I need to do if I have changed my address and still live in Placer County?
14. What do I need to do if I have moved out of Placer County, but remain in California?
15. What is the fee schedule for a carry concealed weapons license?
16. I live in Placer County's Tahoe Basin area. Do I have to travel to the Sheriff's main office in Auburn?
17. What is considered an acceptable proof of residency?
18. How long is my training certificate valid for?
19. What if I am unable to upload the required documents??