Yes. Each agency requiring Live Scan has unique processing through California Department of Justice and the FBI for criminal history checks. Additionally, Placer County Sheriff's Office will be automatically notified if one of our Carry Concealed Weapon holders is ever arrested. Important- you must bring our Live Scan form to your Live Scan provider. The California Department of Justice will forward your Live Scan results directly to us.
Show All Answers
Every situation differs, however, Placer County generally requires applicants to explain why they are seeking a Concealed Carry Weapon (CCW) license. You must explain on the application your reason for applying. Your CCW investigator will discuss it with you during your interview.
For more information, contact the Concealed Carry Weapons office.
Please be patient. The processing time for a new CCW varies, and usually takes 6 months or more to complete. Interview appointments are booked at the time an online application is submitted. Interview appointments are generally booked about 3 months out. Live Scan results from Department of Justice can take up to 4 months to be received by our agency. For more information, contact the Concealed Carry Weapons office.
Here are some tips to speed up processing of your new Carry Concealed Weapons (CCW):
Placer County Sheriff’s Office performs Live Scans by appointment only on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m. For an appointment call 530-889-7800. For the Tahoe City substation, call 530-581-6301.
Most local law enforcement agencies also provide Live Scan services for their residents, or you may use a private Live Scan provider. Important- you must bring our Live Scan form to your Live Scan provider. The California Department of Justice will forward your Live Scan results directly to us.
Live Scan fees cannot be refunded if your application is denied.
The correct Placer County Sheriff’s Carry Concealed Weapon Live Scan form will be provided to you in the confirmation email sent at the completion of the online application process. Print the form and bring it to any Live Scan provider.
Live Scan fees are currently assessed as follows:
You must apply for a new CCW license at our CCW Start Page.
You have 90 days from your interview to provide us with all documentation or your application will be withdrawn.
Due to the volume for requests for new licenses we are unable to maintain a waiting/cancellation list. Applicants have the option of checking our appointment scheduling site for new openings and cancellations as they become available.
If you have been the victim of a violent crime or have a domestic violence-related restraining order, you may visit our office or call 530-889-6929 and provide documentation of your claim. Your submission will be reviewed by our staff for emergency processing.
No. At this time, our office is unable to accommodate walk-ins due to the file preparation needed to facilitate a sufficient interview.
If you need to request a license to carry a concealed weapon due to a restraining order, please call our New Carry Concealed Weapon License Telephone line at 530-889-6929. You will be required to present a copy of the restraining order, the accompanying police report, and any other documents pertaining to the court order.
If you feel that your circumstances require an immediate appointment for a new license to carry a concealed weapon, you may contact our New Carry Concealed Weapon License telephone line at 530-889-6929. However, you will be required to produce documentation as to the circumstances of the immediacy.
Each Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) application is unique and is evaluated on its own merits. Individual circumstances play a large role in determining the necessity of issuing a CCW license. This decision is ultimately made by the Sheriff.
No. Please do not bring any weapon into the Sheriff’s Office for any reason.
If you are unable to upload the necessary Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) documents during the application process, you will be required to bring those items with you to your scheduled interview. Please refer to the "Prior to Filling Out This Application” section on the CCW Application page for what to bring to your appointment. If you need to reschedule your appointment for a New CCW License please do so by visiting the Order Tracker page, logging in and following the “Reschedule” button.
Processing and Appointment Location: Placer County Sheriff’s Office2929 Richardson DriveAuburn, CA 95604
All applicants will receive notice in writing regarding the denial of their application. Applicants who are denied a concealed weapons license will be advised of the reason for the denial. Applicants may appeal if their application for a license is denied. All appeals must be submitted in writing to:
Placer County Sheriff’s OfficeAttention: CCW Licenses2929 Richardson DriveAuburn, CA 95604
Written appeals should be specific, clearly outlining the applicant’s rebuttal to the reason stated for denial. Additional information, which may be pertinent to the applicants request for a license should also be included.
Appeals must be received by the Sheriff’s Office no later than thirty days from the date of the notification letter.
A license is in effect for a period of two, three or four years before it is either void or renewed. Most applicants qualify for the standard two-year license. For more information, contact the Concealed Carry Weapons office.
Learn about restrictions on our Restrictions page.
During any law enforcement contact, you are required to disclose your status as a Carry Concealed Weapon license holder and you must disclose whether or not you are carrying a weapon on your person or in your vehicle.