Skip to content

Health and Human Services

We are a multi-division agency focused in the health and social services fields. Our services are available throughout the county. We provide a unified system of quality services to safeguard the health and well-being of the people and animals in our communities. To realize our mission, we strive to keep all children, adults, and families:

  • Healthy
  • Safe
  • At home
  • In school or work
  • Out of trouble
  • Self-sufficient

Services and Information

  • Adult Services
    Adult mental health, substance use services, In-Home Supportive Services, Adult Protective Services and more
  • Animal Services
    Pet adoption, animal control and more
  • Child and Youth
    At-risk children in emergencies and crisis, child abuse reporting, counseling, sexual abuse treatment and more
  • Human Services
    Healthcare coverage, food and nutrition assistance, temporary cash and housing assistance, employment services and more
  • Public Health
    Birth registration, all burial permits, infectious diseases, nursing, WIC and more
  • Environmental Health
    Includes food inspection, and monitoring for health including drinking water, garbage, sewage, dangerous chemicals, pollution and more
  • Tahoe Services
    Explore services specific to North Lake Tahoe
  • Community Resources 
    Visit the Network of Care website to connect with nonprofit and other organizations across Placer County for resources

Department Leadership

Department Director

Jeffrey S. Brown, M.P.H., M.S.W.
jbrown@placer.ca.gov
530-745-3141

Public Health Officer and Public Health Director

Robert L. Oldham, M.D., M.S.H.A.
roldham@placer.ca.gov
530-889-7157
530-889-7198 (fax)

Administrative Services Director

Darlene King
DMking@placer.ca.gov 
530-745-3123

Adult System of Care Division Director

Amy Ellis, MFT
AREllis@placer.ca.gov
530-889-7254

Children’s System of Care Division Director

Twylla Abrahamson, Ph.D.
TAbraham@placer.ca.gov
530-886-2848

Environmental Health and Animal Services Director

Wesley Nicks
wnicks@placer.ca.gov
530-745-2343

Human Services Division Director

Amanda Sharp
ASharp@placer.ca.gov
530-889-7688

Featured Updates

Top