Skip to content

Local Agency Formation Commission

Membership in each county's LAFCO is prescribed by law.  The Placer LAFCO Commission contains seven members - two representatives from the county board of supervisors, two representatives from city councils, and one public member, and two special district representatives.

Each county in the state is required to have a LAFCO. These LAFCOs fulfill their legislative mandate through the consideration and approval or denial of boundary changes proposed by individuals or the local agencies themselves. LAFCOs do not have the power to initiate boundary changes on their own, except for proposals involving the dissolution, consolidation, or merger of special districts or the establishment of subsidiary districts.


The local agency formation commission (LAFCO) regulates boundaries and boundary changes for public agencies:

  • Cities and Towns
  • Sewer Districts
  • Water and Irrigation Districts
  • Cemetery Districts
  • Fire Districts
  • Community Service Districts
  • Hospital Districts
  • Mosquito and Vector Control Districts
  • Municipal Utility Districts
  • Public Utility Districts
  • Recreation and Park Districts
  • Resort Improvement Districts
  • Resource Conservation Districts
  • Sanitary Districts  

The Municipal Service Review (MSR) includes an analysis of the issues and written determinations for:

The LAFCO Process

  • Contact Placer LAFCO to set up an appointment to discuss your needs. Phone: 530-889-4097  
  • After an application is received the application is sent to different county departments and agencies for comments. There is a period of information gathering and analysis. After reviewing the comments, LAFCO will hold a public hearing to consider an applicant's request. These hearings are advertised in the local newspapers and interested citizens are welcome and encouraged to state their views at the hearings.
  • Conducting authority and completion. 

Guidelines for incorporation/formation of new cities or districts