Show All Answers
2954 Richardson DriveAuburn, CA 95603
The Recorder’s Office is located on the left-hand side of the first floor the Larry Oddo Finance Administration Building in the DeWitt Center in Auburn.
If you are coming from Sacramento, Roseville and Rocklin:
If you are coming from Colfax or Lake Tahoe:
3715 Atherton Road,Rocklin, CA 95765
If you are coming from Sacramento:
If you are coming from Rocklin, Auburn, Colfax or Lake Tahoe:
Office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m, Monday through Friday, except for legal holidays. Recording hours are 8 a.m. to 4 p.m, Monday through Friday, except for legal holidays.
Any document affecting title to real property that is authorized or required by law to be recorded. This includes, but is not limited to:
The recording requirements for documents are established by the codes for the State of California. Documents presented for recording must meet certain basic requirements.
Documents are recorded Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. You can bring your document to our office between those hours. If the document meets recording requirements, the staff will record it while you wait. Documents can also be mailed to our office. The mailing address is:
Placer County Clerk-Recorder's Office2954 Richardson DriveAuburn, CA 95603
The basic recording fee is $14 for the first page of a document and $3 for each additional page. This is for a standard 8.5-inch by 11-inch letter-sized document. If any page of a document is larger or smaller than 8.5 inches by 11 inches, or if a page has anything stapled, taped or glued to it, the document will require a $3 non-conforming fee for each and every page. Therefore, the fee for a non-conforming document is $17 for the first page and $6 for each additional page. There also may be additional fees for Documentary Transfer Tax, debtor notification on involuntary liens and additional indexing.
For a complete list of our fees, please see our fee schedule. If you need assistance calculating the recording fees for your document, you may contact our office at 530-886-5600.
The Recorder’s Office can only provide you with the recording requirements for a document. This office is prohibited by law from providing you with legal advice. We recommend that you contact a legal advisor or title company for assistance in preparing your document.
Since it is the responsibility of the Recorder’s Office to preserve these records, images of the original documents are placed on roll film for archival purposes. Once a roll of film is completed, it must be examined to make certain that all the images are clear and complete. If the images on a roll of film are acceptable, the original documents are returned to the address shown in the upper left corner of the document approximately four to six weeks after recording.
Documentary Transfer Tax is 55 cents per each $500 of the sale price or value of the real property being transferred. It is due at the time of recording on any transfer of real property, unless an exemption from Documentary Transfer Tax under the California State Revenue and Taxation Codes is provided.
To find out what documents have been recorded for a certain property requires a search of our records. Searching records is not within the legal scope of this office. However, our records are open to the public 8 a.m. to 5 p.m, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays, and you or your representative are welcome to search our records. Because the grantor/grantee index is a name index, the property owner’s name is required in order to search.
The Recorder’s Office does not keep a record of sale prices. Sale prices can be estimated from the amount of Documentary Transfer Tax shown on a deed. However, the Documentary Transfer Tax amount may not accurately reflect the true purchase price, since Documentary Transfer Tax is not charged on assumed loan amounts.
You will need to search our records under your name to find out if a lien has been placed against you or if a recorded lien has been released. The Recorder’s Office cannot remove any liens placed against you. To have a lien released, you will need to contact the party who placed the lien and acquire a proper release document.